---
title: "Pre-Assigning Groups & Roles to Users in Bulk"
canonical: "https://help-equiem.refined.site/space/CS/1330839704/Pre-Assigning%20Groups%20%26%20Roles%20to%20Users%20in%20Bulk"
format: markdown
---
> ℹ️ **Who can use this feature?**
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ - Property Managers
> ℹ️ - Workplace Managers (for their company only)

When you invite a group of new users to your platform, there is the option to provide them with a Group or Role upon registering.

You might pre-assign users a Group if you know these particular users will all be Fire Wardens, for example.

You might pre-assign users a Role if you know these users are going to be Workplace Managers, Request Managers/Assignees, Bookings Managers/Observers or if you have new starters in your team that will require the Property Manager Role, for example.

> Macro (excerpt)
> 
> To begin, head to [equiem.one](https://equiem.one/) and log in.
> 
> Scroll down to the Manage New User Invites widget. Click Invite Users.
> 
> Once you have inputted the user's email addresses and company(s) using the BULK UPLOAD function, click the checkbox in the top left to select all users (or use the checkboxes manually to select users).
> 
> ![Screenshot 2025-08-19 at 09.09.44.png](media://d0581f30-1a81-4c6e-b9f6-be0fdb3ddc78)
> 
> Next, click either Assign Groups or Assign Roles (or both) and choose your required Groups/Roles.
> 
> ![Screenshot 2025-08-19 at 09.10.24.png](media://44b99988-4a81-409f-990e-32633be9983c)
> 
> If you are pre-assigning a Bookings role (Bookings Manager or Bookings Observer), you will also need to select the building the role should relate to. In the below example, the users have been pre-assigned the Booking Manager role for the Equiem HQ building only.
> 
> ![Screenshot 2025-08-19 at 09.11.20.png](media://e5dc7ba2-e9cf-41a3-aa17-e3df94abcc9f)
> 
> If you are pre-assigning a Request Management role (Request Manager or Request Assignee), you will also need to select the Queue the user should be assigned to. In the below example, the users have been pre-assigned the Request Manager role for the Default Queue.
> 
> ![Screenshot 2025-08-19 at 09.13.09.png](media://5fdbb082-96fc-4e2f-8410-ae0ec4f7415a)
> 
> The chosen Groups/Roles will populate in all lines that have a checkbox selected.
> 
> If you make a mistake, you can use the X icon to remove the Group/Role for a user or uncheck the box in the Assign Groups/Assign Roles drop down. The DELETE SELECTED button will remove the users and their Groups/Roles.

> ℹ️ You will only be able to assign Groups that have been added to the Taxonomy page for your site in Site Settings.

> ℹ️ You will only be able to assign Roles you have permission to provide access for. If you are not able to assign a Role you believe you should be able to, please raise a support ticket

Once you have finished, select INVITE USERS. When your users register, they will now automatically have that Group/Role assigned.

Note, in the invitation email the users receive, they will be able to see the Group/Role they have been assigned.