---
title: "Manage New User Invites Widget"
canonical: "https://help-equiem.refined.site/space/CS/1324613973/Manage%20New%20User%20Invites%20Widget"
format: markdown
---
> Macro (toc)

## Overview

This widget is designed to increase the number of registration and fasten new user onboarding by giving Property Managers and Workplace Managers the ability to:

- Invite new users to the platform
- Pre-assign them roles (if required)
- Monitor the status of registration
- Send reminders (if the user has not unsubscribed)
- Approve users who are registering with a personal email address

## Key Features

The widget includes:

- An "**Invite**" button
- **Tabs** sorted by invite status
  - **All Invites** - where users see everything
  - **Pending** - the invites have been sent to new users who have not yet registered
  - **Responded**- new user has received the invite and registered for the platform
- Each row displays the invitee's email address, a timestamp for the last invite sent, and the status of the registration. Additionally, each row includes three dots with the following options:
  - **Resend Invitation **-  resends the invitation.
  - **Activity History **- provides a list of actions taken associated with the invite.
  - **Approve User** - this option is only available for Property Manager to approve registrations with personal emails.

![image-20240129-153353.png](media://f47a1296-02a0-4a52-ad0a-4b68e01751fc)

## Assigning Roles

> ⚠️ <u>Note for all users</u>: adding roles to users is <u>**OPTIONAL**</u> - only do so if there is a requirement to.

## Inviting New Users with Their Personal Email Address

Workplace Managers are the <u>**only**</u> users with the ability to bypass account approval when they register a new user with a personal email address.

Property Managers can invite a user with a personal email address, however, the user's account will still require approval. The "Pending approval" status will show in the widget and the Property Manager will be able to approve the registration directly from the widget.

## Step by step walkthrough for inviting new users

To begin inviting one or several users, click on "Invite". You have the option to:

1. **Option 1 **- Enter one or multiple new users by adding them one by one to the modal or,
2. **Option 2 **- Click on "Bulk Upload" should you wish to copy/paste multiple emails at once (no limit on numbers).

![image-20240129-153623.png](media://b11192b0-8514-4502-9391-9e984be6baca)

### Option 1

1. Enter the user's work email. You will get an immediate error if the format is invalid.
2. Option to assign the user one or several roles by clicking "**+Add role**".
3. Once you are done adding the emails and roles, click "**Invite Users**" and you will get a blue toast confirmation that the invites have been sent. You will also see the new entries in your widget. If the user you have added as a tooltip "i" next to the email address, it means this user has a role assigned to them and the tooltip tells you which role(s).
4. If some of the users you are trying to invite already have an account or have already been invited by another user, you will get a notification instead of a toast.

![image-20240129-153641.png](media://be74fad0-5723-4bfc-a4dd-db69e6cc7da0)

### Option 2

1. Click on the "**Bulk Upload**" button to perform a bulk import. **Bulk meaning adding large quantities of invitees at once.*
2. Add your list of new user emails into the empty field and select "**Upload**".  
Email addresses will need to be separated by a comma or listed one per line.You can copy and paste a column of emails from Excel or Google Sheet. These will get formatted as one per line and easily uploaded.
3. New user emails are then populated on the "Add New Users" page, shown below. As shown previously, you can then bulk assign roles to the new users.
4. You can perform "bulk actions" at once for multiple users (e.g. assigning the same role or deleting some entries all at once).
5. Once you are done, click on "**Invite Users**" and you will get a blue toast confirmation that the invites have been sent. You will also see the new entries in your widget.
6. If some of the users you are trying to invite already have an account or have already been invited by another user, you will get a notification instead of a toast.

![image-20240129-153701.png](media://e5b06b0a-a01a-42e1-83be-13a8fcfa1d25)

![image-20240129-153714.png](media://b1b9b95f-c39a-4016-af94-7385b7871dbb)

## More on "Bulk Actions"

**Bulk action** is a powerful tool which is very popular in “complicated product” world. It’s designed to help users finish their tasks quickly and reduce muscle work. In web and mobile applications design, bulk editing is used to support a variety of actions, such as editing, labelling, changing states, moving, or deleting.

You can watch [this explainer video](https://www.loom.com/share/807e7543e8174019988324fbc4b47f5b) to get a detailed explanation.

## Resending an Invite

Property and Workplace Managers have the ability to resend invitations to users who are in a pending registration status. 

The frequency and timing of these ‘resends’ are at the discretion of the managers. However, it's important to note that users who have previously unsubscribed from marketing emails will not receive these emails.

In an upcoming update, we will be adding an "unsubscribed" tag to users who have previously opted out of marketing emails. This tag will prevent the “Resend Invitation” button from being activated for these users.

![image-20240129-153810.png](media://5bcd904d-2e29-499a-a351-cef3fd84af63)

## Activity History

The activity history maintains a comprehensive record of all actions related to user invitations by Property and Workplace Managers. This includes details such as who originally invited the user, who has resent the invitation, and when the user registered. The actions are listed in reverse chronological order, with the most recent events appearing at the top and the oldest events appearing at the bottom.

By providing this information, the activity history enables Property and Workplace Managers to keep track of all invitation and registration activity. This is particularly useful given that the information in the widget is shared between multiple users, ensuring that all managers stay informed and up-to-date on the status of each user.

![image-20240129-153826.png](media://26de0078-0a6e-44e2-9006-3d12659f9da2)

## FAQ

|  |  |
| --- | --- |
| **Question** | **Answer** |
| Can I invite a user with a personal email? | This new widget allows Workplace Managers to do so very easily and bypass the need for account approval so let them do the job. |
| Does the email address need to be verified? | Yes this steps remains. Every user need to verify their email address. |
| Do invites expire? | Please note invites pending expire after 30 days and will no longer show in the widget after this point. Once a user clicks "Resend Invitation" then the count starts back to 30 days.<br>After 30 days, if an invite remains pending, it will expire and drop-out from the widget. You will have to re-issue an invite for this user if you wish to invite them again. |